Jimenez & Associates, Inc.
 Jimenez & Associates, Inc. 

Minimum Wage by State

In 2020, twenty-one states across the country will increase their minimum wage requirements for workers beginning January 1, 2020, with Connecticut, Delaware, Nevada and Oregon set to increase their requirements later in the year.

To ensure your organization is aware of the latest minimum wage requirements, a breakdown by state.

State  2019 Minimum Wage  2020 Minimum Wage 
Alabama  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Alaska  $9.89  $10.19 
Arizona  $11.00  $12.00 
Arkansas  $9.25  $10.00 
California   $12.00*  $13.00* 
Colorado  $11.10  $12.00 
Connecticut  $11.00  $11.00 ($12.00 effective 9/1/20) 
Delaware  $9.25 $9.25 
Washington D.C.  $14.00  $14.00 ($15.00 effective 7/1/20) 
Florida  $8.46  $8.56 
Georgia  $5.15 (Employers subject to Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage.)  $5.15 (Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage) 
Hawaii  $10.10  $10.10 
Idaho  $7.25  $7.25 
Illinois  $8.25  $9.25 
Indiana  $7.25  $7.25 
Iowa  $7.25  $7.25 
Kansas  $7.25  $7.25 
Kentucky  $7.25  $7.25 
Louisiana  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Maine  $11.00  $12.00 
Maryland  $10.10  $11.00 
Massachusetts  $12.00  $12.75 
Michigan  $9.45  $9.65
Minnesota  $9.86**  $10.00** 
Mississippi  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Missouri  $8.60  $9.45 
Montana  $8.50  $8.65 
Nebraska  $9.00  $9.00 
Nevada  $7.25***  $7.25*** 
New Hampshire  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
New Jersey  $10.00  $11.00 
New Mexico  $7.50  $9.00 
New York  $11.10  $11.80**** (statewide) 
North Carolina  $7.25  $7.25 
North Dakota  $7.25  $7.25 
Ohio  $8.55  $8.70 
Oklahoma  $7.25  $7.25 
Oregon  $11.25****  $11.25**** 
Pennsylvania  $7.25  $7.25 
Rhode Island  $10.50  $10.50 
South Carolina  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
South Dakota  $9.10  $9.30 
Tennessee  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum)  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Texas  $7.25  $7.25 
Utah  $7.25  $7.25 
Vermont  $10.78  $10.96 
Virginia  $7.25  $7.25 
Washington  $12.00  $13.50 
West Virginia  $8.75  $8.75 
Wisconsin  $7.25  $7.25 
Wyoming  $5.15 (Employers subject to Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the Federal minimum wage.)  $5.15 (Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage) 

 

*$13.00 rate is for California employers with 26 or more employees. Employers in California with 25 or less employees have a minimum wage of $12.00 per hour.

**$10.00 rate is for large employers. Small employers have a minimum wage of $8.15 per hour.

***$7.25 rate is for Nevada employees who are offered health insurance. $8.25 rate is for Nevada employees who are not offered health insurance. On July 1, 2020, minimum wage for employees with health insurance will increase to $9.00. The minimum wage for employees without health insurance will increase to $8.00.

****Statewide minimum wages apply in areas that are not governed by a higher, local minimum wage ordinance. New York City and Portland Metro are examples of areas which have local minimum wage rates that exceed the statewide minimum.

 

Print Print | Sitemap
Jimenez & Associates, Inc. © 2008-2020. All rights reserved.